The page uses Browser Access Keys to help with keyboard navigation. Click to learn moreSkip to Navigation

Different browsers use different keystrokes to activate accesskey shortcuts. Please reference the following list to use access keys on your system.

Alt and the accesskey, for Internet Explorer on Windows
Shift and Alt and the accesskey, for Firefox on Windows
Shift and Esc and the accesskey, for Windows or Mac
Ctrl and the accesskey, for the following browsers on a Mac: Internet Explorer 5.2, Safari 1.2, Firefox, Mozilla, Netscape 6+.

We use the following access keys on our gateway

n Skip to Navigation
k Accesskeys description
h Help
    University of Hartford
   
 
  Nov 22, 2017
 
 
    
2017-2018 Undergraduate Bulletin

Drug and Alcohol Policy Statement


Drug and Alcohol Policy Statement

The University complies with the requirements of the Federal Drug-Free Workplace Act of 1988 and the Federal Drug-Free Schools and Communities Amendments of 1989. The University subscribes to the guidelines recommended by the Connecticut state Department of Higher Education for the elimination of drug and alcohol abuse in the educational environment.

The manufacture, distribution, dispensing, possession or use of controlled substances is prohibited on the campus of the University of Hartford. The Connecticut General Statutes impose severe penalties for violations. Under Section 21a-277, the illegal manufacture, distribution, sale, prescription, and/or dispensing of any controlled substance, for a first offense, could result in imprisonment for not more than 15 years and a fine of up to $50,000. Subsequent offenses carry even harsher penalties. Section 21a-278 carries additional penalties, including the possibility of life imprisonment.

The manufacture, unsanctioned/unlawful distribution, dispensing, possession, or use of alcoholic beverages is prohibited on the campus of the University of Hartford. University employees, students, and guests are expected to comply with all laws and regulations governing alcoholic beverages, including laws prohibiting the furnishing or serving of alcoholic beverages to minors. The sale of alcoholic beverages, except as permitted by law, is prohibited by the state of Connecticut. Penalties for violating this law could include, for each offense, a fine of up to $1,000 and/or imprisonment for up to one year. Sale to minors is also prohibited and carries penalties of up to $15,000 and/or imprisonment of up to 18 months. Relevant sections of the Connecticut General Statute include Sections 30-74, 30-77, 30-86, 30-87, 30-88a, 30-89, and 30-113.